top of page
  • Writer's picturenms18c

"The Author's/Artist's Statement: A Genre for Reflection" Remix-Blog#6

Chapter Six of the Bedford Book of Genre starts off with talking about how artists need to give a quote or explain their inspiration for the pieces they create. That caught my attention, and as I kept reading the chapter, it eventually went on to talk about when other people refer to these artist’s work that they need to make sure to source/give credit to them. There are examples of this all throughout the this book, or any textbook for that matter. Personally, when I first started writing essays in elementary and middle school, I wasn’t taught how to source authors at all. I believe that the first time I was actually asked to source a text was for my 8th grade National History Day project on WWII. Eventually once you reach high school, it’s pretty much required that you source everything, or else you’ll be expelled and you “won’t have any chance of going to college.” I don’t think that system is right (not the high school’s policy, but the fact that I wasn’t even aware of sourcing until late middle school). After reading this especially, I see the importance of giving credit to someone for their work. I wouldn’t want somebody to take credit for something I worked hard to create. One other thing the chapter mentioned was that just because you have a source, doesn’t mean it’s the right one for you. You still have to make sure it’s something you can really elaborate on, or that you’re passionate about. That advice has definitely had a huge impact on my essay for ENC 2135.

232 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

"Wikipedia Entry on Viral Marketing" Blog Post#10-Remix

In my ENC 2135 class, our teacher has asked that we create a format in which we can convey three genres for third remix project. After much class discussion, most of us have decided that we’re going t

"Insight into Past Classes" Blog Post#9-Remix

This week my teacher decided to show us examples of online student portfolios from his past classes. Afterwards he asked us to choose one of their wix websites, and write about it. I chose to in parti

BBG Ch.15 "Assembling a Multigenre Project"Remix-Blog#8

In the Bedford Book of Genres, Chapter 15 discusses the topic of creating a multigenre presentation. Right now in my ENC 2135 class, we’re preparing to work on our third “remix” project, which is quit

bottom of page