top of page
  • Writer's picturenms18c

"Shitty First Drafts" Remix-Blog#2

Well I would just like to start off by saying that this chapter from Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird was very relatable. I cannot count the number of times I have written a “shitty” first draft. Even this response right now is the third draft of my original work. It is very rare that after planning out what I want to write that I don’t end up writing more than one draft. There is always something else that you can do to make your writing better. Despite the fact that Lamott expresses her jealousy of Muriel Spark, even going as far as to say that God can’t stand her, I think the message that she is trying to portray to her audience is that nobody is a perfect writer. I would go as far as to say that nobody is perfect at anything besides being themselves. There is a lot that can be taken away from this chapter, but overall Lamott just makes me, and probably everyone else, feel a little less self-conscious about their writing skills. Instead of just putting the reader in her shoes, she does as fantastic job of making her audience feel like they belong; and that is something very few authors can do.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

"Wikipedia Entry on Viral Marketing" Blog Post#10-Remix

In my ENC 2135 class, our teacher has asked that we create a format in which we can convey three genres for third remix project. After much class discussion, most of us have decided that we’re going t

"Insight into Past Classes" Blog Post#9-Remix

This week my teacher decided to show us examples of online student portfolios from his past classes. Afterwards he asked us to choose one of their wix websites, and write about it. I chose to in parti

BBG Ch.15 "Assembling a Multigenre Project"Remix-Blog#8

In the Bedford Book of Genres, Chapter 15 discusses the topic of creating a multigenre presentation. Right now in my ENC 2135 class, we’re preparing to work on our third “remix” project, which is quit

bottom of page