top of page
  • Writer's picturenms18c

"I Once Was Miss America" Remix-Blog#1

First off I would just like to say "Wow." Roxane Gay's piece really spoke to me. At first when she was discussing Vanessa Williams I wasn't sure if it was a story that was fit for me, but as she started going more in depth with describing her childhood life, I could really relate to what she was talking about. Her writing style is very unique in the fact that she has the ability to bring the readers back in time, and put them in her shoes. Much like the author, I too have taken comfort in reading books to avoid and escape the problems of my every day school life. The stories about the cliques known as the "popular kids" are indeed true. You can spot them everywhere you go, if you pay attention. Gay's story of encountering the traumas of being bullied about her physical features such as her eyes, skin color, and gender are still something that is sadly present in today’s society. It is people like Roxane Gay that accept their Oscars and “call out the names of the golden popular kids” that bring awareness to this unjust social climbing system we live in. Gay is someone who spoke out as an outcast, and made people in the world feel less alone. One can hope that her influence will help other kids believe they can become the Miss or Mister America of the world. Overall, I admire Roxane Gay’s courage to speak out and tell her story after all these years. I myself strive to someday be just as brave as she is.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

"Wikipedia Entry on Viral Marketing" Blog Post#10-Remix

In my ENC 2135 class, our teacher has asked that we create a format in which we can convey three genres for third remix project. After much class discussion, most of us have decided that we’re going t

"Insight into Past Classes" Blog Post#9-Remix

This week my teacher decided to show us examples of online student portfolios from his past classes. Afterwards he asked us to choose one of their wix websites, and write about it. I chose to in parti

BBG Ch.15 "Assembling a Multigenre Project"Remix-Blog#8

In the Bedford Book of Genres, Chapter 15 discusses the topic of creating a multigenre presentation. Right now in my ENC 2135 class, we’re preparing to work on our third “remix” project, which is quit

bottom of page