top of page
  • Writer's picturenms18c

Research Proposal #1 "The Marching Chiefs: Legends in the Making"

Updated: Aug 2, 2018

I’ve chosen to use the Marching Chiefs as my future organization for the Inquiry portion of this assignment. Band itself was something that my mom introduced me too. She explained how participating in this organization, while also being a student, played a crucial part in the development of her time management skills. Per her advice, I joined the marching band in high school, and I don’t regret it at all. I made lifelong friends there, and did indeed learn how to manage my time very well. This being said, I would like to continue this positive streak in college as well, while also managing a part-time job. Being in this organization will not only increase my connections across campus, but it will also continue to prepare me for the future with balancing work and personal/family time. I plan on contacting Angel Purganan (a Marching Chiefs veteran/Orientation Leader) and other freshman aspiring to be Marching Chiefs via text and/or by meeting up in-person around Cawthon Music Hall this week. When interviewing my sources, I’m going to make sure to ask what the schedule is like; specifically how long and often the weekly practices are, and how long the away-game trips last. As an Aspiring Freshman Percussionist, I feel that it’s important to know what type of time crunch I’m going to be working with, so that for future reference I can build my school, study, and work schedule around these times. Further research beyond the interview that I can conduct is searching the web for previous calendars, and trying to piece together what I believe the schedule for the percussion section would’ve been. I also believe that it’s important to ask what each instrumental section does to cope with the rigorous work. Every section prepares in a different way, and sometimes what works for most people may not work for everyone. I can also research this concept by looking up YouTube videos and exploring the Marching Chiefs community Facebook posts. What I really want to hear from my sources is if being in the Marching Chiefs is like a second family to them, because that’s exactly the reason why I’m excited to get involved with such a broad organization here at Florida State University.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Inquiry 1000-Word Research Draft#1

Holding my mallets up in a salute stance, I am honored to say that I am trying out for the Florida State Marching Chiefs. After long and hard consideration, I’ve decided to face the challenges such as

Reflection- Conference #2

July 19th 2018 Today I went over my P2 project with Mat. First and foremost I asked about a problem I was having with finding scholarly sources for the Marching Chiefs on FSU One Search. Mat then expl

A Commitment to Researching the Future

Holding my mallets up in a salute stance, I am honored to say that I am trying out for the Florida State Marching Chiefs. After long and hard consideration, I’ve decided to face the challenges such as

bottom of page