top of page
  • Writer's picturenms18c

An Organized Annotation of a Musical Bibliography

Updated: Jul 19, 2018

Purganan, Angel. Personal interview. 10 July 2018. My interview with Ms. Purganan was very insightful. She was very adamant about giving me a front row view and personal perspective about what it really means to be in the Marching Chiefs. I would say that her interview was definitely a preparatory crash-course about what to expect during the audition process as a freshman, making sure to tell me what specific type of attitude I should have during each section. Her interview was very similar to the one I had with Ms. Olney, in the fact that both emphasized how being in the program itself was such a rewarding experience mentally, physically, and socially. Though Ms. Purganan is not in my instrumental section of the band, she knew from her own connections that the specific concepts and training that she was preparing me for were the same for all sections in the Marching Chiefs.


Olney, Katie. Personal interview. 11 July 2018. My interview with Ms. Olney was very similar to the one I had with Ms. Purganan, given that both of them had the same goal of trying to prepare me for the Marching Chiefs. Ms. Olney’s interview was unique, because rather than focusing on how to get into the actual organization itself, she told me what exactly the band’s schedule was going to be once I’m in the Marching Chiefs. She in essence made me realize that if I’m going to be in the Marching Chiefs, whilst trying to get into the Honors College here at Florida State University, that I am better off holding off on getting a part-time job until the spring semester. Furthermore, as a member of the leadership program in the Marching Chiefs, Ms. Olney mentioned to me that the practice/workload would be reduced dramatically once the band gets into concert season in the spring and summer semesters.


“FSU Marching Chiefs.” FSU Marching Chiefs Home Comments, Florida State University, fsuchiefs.com/future-chiefs/. This source was not peer reviewed, but I do not think it’s biased because the website only gives you factual information about schedules and requirements for the Marching Chiefs. The website itself provided calendar information of the previous years’ rehearsal schedule, which was an exact match to what Ms. Purganan and Ms. Olney described in their personal interviews. Ms. Purganan and Ms. Olney both referred me to this website because it is actually is essential to joining the Marching Chiefs. It leads you to the direct online signup sheet for auditions, while also making sure to inform you that it is required to have certain medical exams prior to the audition. The bad thing about the website by itself is that it doesn’t give a 1st-person perspective of the organization. It describes the practices, games, and competitions that they do, but it doesn’t mention what it feels like for the actual members to go through the process. In other words, the website is more like an overall advertisement for joining the band, whereas the people in the interviews I conducted gave it to me straight, making sure to tell me just how much of a time, mental, and physical commitment being in the club would be.


Cumberledge, Jason P. "The Benefits of College Marching Bands for Students and Universities: A Review of the Literature." Update: Applications of Research in Music Education, vol. 36, no. 1, 01 Oct. 2017, pp. 44-50. EBSCOhost, login.proxy.lib.fsu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ1152377&site=eds-live. This is a peer reviewed source that encases the many benefits of Marching Band. The article mentions a variety of social and education factors that evolve into recommendations for its readers. Its main focus though is to both combine and separate the different amazing aspects that Marching Band provides for both the college/university and the students themselves. Unlike the other sources, this article discusses the concept of marching band in general, instead of just the Marching Chiefs.


Richmond, Sam. "Florida State Band Takes Field as Zombies, Performs 'Thriller'." NCAA News, 31 Oct. 2015, p. 1. EBSCOhost, login.proxy.lib.fsu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=s3h&AN=110691054&site=eds-live. I believe this source to be credible to my project, despite the fact that FSU One-Search says that it isn’t peer reviewed. I don’t think that the NCAA were biased in this article, simply because they are not striving to cover marching bands in their articles. They are there to report stories on football games in general, and they are just a primary source recounting a magnificent halftime show at yet another weekend football game. This source is different from the others in the fact that it is from a professional company’s website, and that’s it’s not your typical halftime show company advertiser.


"Three Fsu Marching Chiefs Make Life-Saving Donations." States News Service, 2015. EBSCOhost, login.proxy.lib.fsu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edsgao&AN=edsgcl.428319611&site=eds-live. This is not a peer reviewed source. I believe that despite the fact that this article was written by Florida State University, that this source is not biased. The article itself just gives credit and kudos to the individuals who participated in the Stem Cell charity, rather than promoting the Marching Band. It only mentions that they are in Marching Chiefs in order to further develop the face of integrity put on these students. The article itself is just proof that the organization does indeed encourage volunteering in the community. The article is also unique because it shows that the school takes pride in the Band organization, thereby giving students more motivation to join.


Faucett, Bill F. The Marching Chiefs of Florida State University : The Band That Never Lost a Halftime Show. Jefferson, North Carolina : McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers, [2018], 2018. EBSCOhost, login.proxy.lib.fsu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=cat05720a&AN=fsu.035830882&site=eds-live. Despite the fact that this is a published book, this source is not peer reviewed. I believe that this source is credible to my paper because the book itself sources historical events of how the band was built, as well as alumni that have gone through the evolution of the band themselves. Their first-hand experiences are valuable because they inform readers how this organization is safe and deserves to be well-respected.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Inquiry 1000-Word Research Draft#1

Holding my mallets up in a salute stance, I am honored to say that I am trying out for the Florida State Marching Chiefs. After long and hard consideration, I’ve decided to face the challenges such as

Reflection- Conference #2

July 19th 2018 Today I went over my P2 project with Mat. First and foremost I asked about a problem I was having with finding scholarly sources for the Marching Chiefs on FSU One Search. Mat then expl

A Commitment to Researching the Future

Holding my mallets up in a salute stance, I am honored to say that I am trying out for the Florida State Marching Chiefs. After long and hard consideration, I’ve decided to face the challenges such as

bottom of page